It’s always better to be safe

One thing about were we live, there are outdoor swimming pools everywhere.   Every subdivision has a community pool.   In fact, it seems like over half of the homes in our subdivision have pool.  Considering that every time I want to go outside I’m told it’s too hot, swimming pools seem like a good idea.   The bad side of course, is that not a week goes by that Grandma and Grandpa aren’t talking about a toddler in our area that drowns.

In an effort to help make me safe, my Mom enrolled me in swimming classes at out local YMCA.  Every morning this week I have a lesson.   Once lessons are complete, Mom is going to start taking me into the pool a couple times a week to enforce what I’m learning.

IMG_0507e

One of the big things they taught us our first day, and we worked on this our second day also, is how to get out of the pool on our own.  I can now grab the side of the pool and completely pull myself up and out on my own.    Now we are working on how I get over to the side of the pool.

IMG_0499e

IMG_0505e

Even though Mom is always in the pool with me and Grandma is sitting at the side of pool watching, they think it is important to know how to swim a little.   “Stuff happens” sometimes and we are trying to make sure it doesn’t happen to me.

Plus….  getting in the pool on a hot day is a lot of fun…

BTW, just because you send you toddler to swimming class doesn’t mean you can turn your back for a second when they are in a pool.  I’m your responsibility and you better be watching me like a hawk no matter how well you think I can swim.. I’m still a toddler.

Make sure you’re watching your babies and

Thanks for stopping by

Anthony

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

